Lost Password – Windows XP Virtual Machine…


Ok, had to reset it.  Here is what I did:

  1. Searches led me to this site:   http://www.petri.co.il/forgot_administrator_password.htm
  2. Trial and error led me to this tool:  Offline NT Password & Registry Editor, Bootdisk / CD
  3. I downloaded the cd080802.iso file.
  4. As I was unable to boot from the iso file itself in the VMware Server 2 web console (don’t ask me why), I was forced to burn this to a CD and boot the VM off of it (it boot s so fast, I had to set it to boot to the BIOS first and make the CD drive the first boot device).
  5. I followed the defaults offered up by the boot CD and reset (blanked) my password.
  6. Removed the CD and booted the VM, got right into my account just fine.
  7. Created a new password.

I won’t soon forget this password now.  What a pain.  Hope this helps – I looked at John the Ripper and a couple others, but this tool really did the trick.

9 Responses

  1. I have personally tested a windows password recovery tool which is named “windows login recovery”. Burn a boot CD with the program, and insert it into the problem computer and your password will be reset to “Blank”, without losing any data and you needn’t reinstall windows OS.
    more info: http://www.windowsloginrecovery.com

  2. A windows password recovery tool can easily bypass windows password when you forgot windows password ,its “any windows password recovery 3.0″,just for your situation. Get the tool from the link:

    http://www.anypasswordrecovery.com/download.html

  3. Windows Password Key 8.0 is considered as the best tool to reset local administrator and user passwords on any Windows system. It creates a password recovery CD/DVD, USB Flash Drive for home, business and enterprise with an extremely competitive price. And most of all, it’s the most popular and safe solution for removing your Windows password until now. No need to call a technician, no need to re-install anything, and you certainly don’t need to reformat. It works on all and any Windows versions and computers any age
    1. 100% recovery rate
    2. Very easy to use, with complete screenshots
    3. Supports Windows XP, XP+SP2, XP+SP3, 2003, 2000, NT, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition (64-bit), Windows Server 2003 x64 Edition (64-bit) Operating Systems, Windows VISTA, Windows VISTA(64-bit), Windows Server 2008 & Windows 7.
    4. Recovers or reset all user and administrator passwords
    5. Resets passwords with a bootable CD/DVD.
    6. Resets passwords with a bootable USB drive.(Windows Password Key 8.0 Professional only).
    7. All Windows Workstations supported
    8. Supports FAT16, FAT32, NTFS, NTFS5 file systems
    9. Supports RAID/SATA/IDE/ SCSI/SAS drives
    10. Supports all Service Packs
    11. 100% Money back guarantee!

  4. I have download it from this website : http://snurl.com/vauat

  5. I have locked out of my computer for a while,and have tried everything i could do but failed.Until I found this great tool Windows Password Key 8.0 as recommend above.It works great,Such a marvellous and useful tool

  6. thanks for the good post. keep writing such
    posts. recently i had to reset my windows 7 administrator password and a post on reset windows password at http://letusbuzz.co.cc really made my
    day

  7. Fantastic One suggested by symbolik….It really works.

  8. I also know an easy way to reset Windows password for virtual machine:

    http://www.top-password.com/knowledge/reset-vmware-administrator-password.html

    The trick can be used for Windows system running in both VMware and Virtual PC.

  9. I recently would not leave your website ahead of advising we really enjoyed the typical data individuals offer in your attendees? Shall be backside generally in order to take a look at cross-check new threads

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

