Kismet and D-Link DWL-G122 USB WLAN Adapter


I decided to try out kismet today. I had a D-Link USB wireless adapter handy (a DWL-G122 version B1), but no driver. Some quick Googling turned up the RaLink Linux support web site, but I had trouble compiling the drivers there (I tried both the RT2501USB(RT2571W/RT2671) and the RT2500USB(RT2571/RT2572) (source Code)). So instead I tried the latest beta rt2570 driver from the rt2x00.serialmonkey.com web site:

  1. Untar after downloading.
  2. Go to the Module directory.
  3. “make”
  4. “make install” (gotta be root).
  5. “modprobe rt2570”
  6. “iwconfig” should then show it as rausb0.

From there, the README file included in the tarball has instructions for having the hardware activated on boot.

Of course, you need to have iwconfig (urpmi network-tools to get it on Mandriva)…

I then installed kismet via urpmi, and after a little trolling through man pages, and finding the config file (hint – “updatedb” followed by “locate kismet”), I edited the /etc/kismet.conf file and changed the following lines:

  • # User to setid to (should be your normal user)
    suiduser=<put in a non-root username here>
  • # source=sourcetype,interface,name[,initialchannel]
  • #source=prism54g,eth0,eth0 (for my Planex Intersil card)
    #source=rt2570,rausb0,DWL-G122-B1 (my first guess – shoulda read the README below first)
    source=rt2500,rausb0,rausb0 (correct setting)

I found the right sources in the README doc (/usr/share/doc/kismet-3.1.060413/README) – READ THIS FILE FIRST!

Running kismet without the suid user set failed (it needs to be started as root, but then will drop down to the specified user’s privileges for security reasons). Trying with the correct suid user and the source set to the prism54 worked, but of course, my wireless connection was now gone. I changed to use the DLink interface, and kismet came up, discovered my wireless network (which stilled worked), and even revealed that my neighbors do not appear to have wireless.

Of course, our walls are pretty thick, too….

Next, I’ll get a notebook and try a little war-strolling in my neighborhood. Everyone needs a hobby, right?

PS – Seriously, read the kismet README first – it has the correct sources and list the serialmonkey site as the place to get the driver.

PPS – lsusb output for the D-Link:

  • Bus 005 Device 003: ID 2001:3c00 D-Link Corp. [hex] DWL-G122 802.11g rev. B1 [ralink]

5 Responses

  1. so did u ever get it to work or could you please explain what you did step by step… i am going to buy one and would like something step by step

  2. John, I only used it for kismet, and never got around to getting a laptop for it. But the steps above did provide a working WLAN interface. Just give it an IP with “dhclient ” or use ifconfig to set a static IP (you may need to also add in a default route if you go this way – use the route add default command).

  3. Plus, this was a while ago, and on Mandriva. I use Kubuntu now, and kernel support for wireless is much better, so you may not need to do anything.

  4. A motivating discussion is worth comment.
    I do believe that you should write more on this issue, it may not be a taboo subject but generally folks don’t speak about these subjects. To the next! Many thanks!!

  5. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

Leave a Reply

