Mandriva Upgrade and NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755…


I upgraded via urpmi again (still running Cooker – I know, I’m nuts, but I love it). After doing a “gdm-stop” in tty1 and re-running NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755-pkg1.run as root (because these upgrades usually change enough stuff that the nvidia driver feels it and stops accelerating), the installer dutifully complained that it appeared to have been altered, I pressed on, and it completed without much more drama.

So I test by typing “X”.

And I get the “(EE) Failed to load module “nvidia” (module not found)”, or words to that effect. So I tinkered with the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file for a little bit (no dice), ran “less /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE” (nothing new), and logged into tty2 and fired up lynx. I could have changed the driver in /etc/X11/xorg.conf from “nvidia” to “nv” , started gdm, and surfed that way, but I run Cooker – I *like* pain.

Actually, it is a lot easier to use lynx in another tty than comment out all the beryl-glx-other stuff in my xorg.conf file. Going to google, I soon found the answer and uninstalled the nvidia driver with “NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755-pkg1.run –uninstall”.

I then reinstalled with “NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755-pkg1.run –x-prefix=/usr –x-module-path=/usr/lib/xorg/modules”, tested with “X”, and got the NVIDIA logo and X with no errors. I then was able to fire up gdm, no problem.

Thanks to dive on http://www.linuxquestions.org – thread is posted HERE.

One Response

  1. With thanks for your wonderful skating tips!

Leave a Reply

