HOWTO – VMWare-Server 1.04 and Kernel 2.6.23.1 on Gutsy…


Last big problem I had on my kernel upgrade was getting VMWare running right. I got the latest VMware-server (1.0.4-56528.tar.gz) from http://www.vmware.com, and also got the latest “any-any” update (currently vmware-any-any-update114.tar.gz) – this patches files in vmware to allow it to work with more recent kernels than are officially supported.

One package you must install in xinetd – “sudo apt-get install xinetd” should do the trick.

I unzipped both files (tar xvfz filename), then cd’d into vmware-server-distrib and ran vmware-install.pl. I selected the defaults and let it run until it failed at compiling the first module (vmnet or vmmon, I forget which). I then cd ‘d up and back into the vmware-any-any-update114 directory, and ran runme.pl.

Bear in mind that it is important to actually be in the directory you are running these scripts from.

Everything then compiled, with some warnings, but successfully and both modules were inserted into the running kernel without incident.

Next step was running vmware-config (as root, but you can do this from any directory). I selected the defaults, entered my serial number, etc.

Finally, I was ready to run vmware. Under my user account, I typed in vmware in the konsole window and it started to come up. The it froze. I had to kill it. Running it as root wouldn’t work either. No matter what I did, it would not come up – it opened a blank white window titled VMWare Server Console and froze, and there were lots of errors:

/usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware: /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)
kde-config: /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3)
kde-config: /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3)
*** glibc detected *** /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware: double free or corruption (out): 0x092deb58 ***
======= Backtrace: =========
/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6[0xb6f72d65]
/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(cfree+0x90)[0xb6f76800]
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6(_ZdlPv+0x21)[0xb63a6d81]
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6(_ZNSs4_Rep10_M_destroyERKSaIcE+0x1d)[0xb638290d]
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6(_ZNSsD1Ev+0x51)[0xb63847b1]
/usr/lib/libscim-1.0.so.8[0xb56537a1] ….. and so on

I googled for a while on this before I found the answer, and I wish I remembered the site it was on so I could credit it here. Instead of running “vmware”, you have to run “VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=force vmware”. I made a non-KDE icon and used this in the Application tab Command field. Now it fires up fine.

The last problem I had to overcome was sound on my Windows XP SP2 guest OS – I was getting these errors when I tried to connect sound:

Failed to open sound device /dev/dsp: Device or resource busy
Virtual device sound will start disconnected.

Turns out that VMware server uses OSS, not ALSA. I found the fix HERE (note that this link documents a fix for VMware-Playeras well as VMware-Server) – below is a summary of the VMware-Server fix:

  1. sudo -i
  2. apt-get install alsa-oss
  3. chmod +s /usr/lib/libaoss.so.*
  4. cd /usr/lib/vmware/bin
  5. mv vmware-vmx vmware-vmx.real
  6. echo ‘#!/bin/bash’ > vmware-vmx
  7. echo ‘LD_PRELOAD=libaoss.so exec /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx.real “$@”‘ >> vmware-vmx
  8. chmod +x vmware-vmx

After I restarted the Windows guest VM, the error window went away and I had sound in the VM.

4 Responses

  1. […] – Vanilla Kernel 2.6.23.1 on Gutsy Gibbon…SCM SCR-331 USB Smartcard Reader – Firmware Upgrade HOWTO – VMWare-Server 1.04 and Kernel 2.6.23.1 on Gutsy…Extracting an MP3 From a YouTube Flash (FLV) Download…Using DoD CAC and SmartCard Readers on […]

  2. You are a god.

  3. Many thanks, alo. Saves me from denting my head on my keyboard (again).

Leave a Reply

