Landscaping With Inkscape…


Just a quick post here.  This is not a howto or anything.  I have several projects going on around the house, and I have started using inkscape to put down ideas.  So far, I have designed and build a small piece of furniture with it (a Japanese doll table set that stacks for easy storage) and several landscape designs for my front and back yards.  I have not found any program for Linux specifically aimed at landscape design, but I am really pleased with the ease and power of inkscape to handle the job.

Its 3-D block functions are especially useful for these tasks, when you want to show a side or perspective view of a feature or wall.  I also relied on this function heavily for my furniture project.  By the way, I nailed the furniture set first time – no mistakes.  My first piece of furniture, ever.  I pulled out each piece of the completed drawing to make a parts list, went to Home Depot, and matched up part numbers, quantities, and prices.  I also took detailed dimensional measurements while I was there to ensure proper fittings, and adjusted all of my planned dimensions accordingly.

hina-ningyo-phase1 hina-ningyo-phase1-partslist hina-ningyo-phase1-partslist-2

Using inkscape allowed me to methodically and precisely document all aspects of the project, which turned out to be fairly involved for a beginner like me.  No mistakes.  Next is the backyard patio….

Here are some ideas I was playing around with.  We are going for the trees and raised patio, to keep costs down.

house-now house-new-3 house-new-backyard
house-new-front1 house-new-trees backyard-raised-patio

So, in case you were wondering how to get started on a home project, open up inkscape and start playing around.  You might be surprised at what you can get away with.

2 Responses

  1. thank you for the brief

    I want to find some landscape design patterns to draw materials.

    if you find any, tell me

  2. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

Leave a Reply

