Impressions of Kubuntu 9.04 and VMware-Server 2.0.1…


So far, RAID-10/LVM/XFS is working quite well with Kubuntu 9.04.  Jaunty picks up hardware effortlessly.  I plugged in a USB thumb drive, and a little notification pops up.

Ok.

I plug in my camera, and it sees it fine,no muss, no fuss.

Better.

I plug in my webcam – no notification, it just works.

Sweeeet.

I plug in my HP printer, and I have to dig around to see that it was added as quietly and politely as you please, ready to print.

Awesome.

I ran out of things to plug in.  Kubuntu 8.04 (the previous version I was using) didn’t boot nearly as quickly, took longer to load the desktop after login, and was good about detecting devices, mostly, but needed polish and charm.

9.04 has it in spades.  I am really quite impressed with the hardware cababilities of it.  There are some programs, like adept, I am missing, but the learning curve for the newer stuff is really more like a learning bump.

Update:  It even loaded the sensors package to track temperatures.  Wow.

I am running 64-bit now, and flash and java work fine.  It took me a while to find the right libjavaplugin and link it into the Firefox plugins folder, but flash 10 worked fine and installed easily.

VMware-Server is a different story.  The 64-bit is slow, flaky, and cranky.  It times out all the time, it resets often, and it just stalls doing stuff.  I now have a VM ready for loading, but it took all day to fight it into doing so.  And I found no reliable cure, to include swapping out the java jre version used for a later version.  I am really dissapointed with the 2.0.1 release in terms of ease of install, performance, and reliability.  Oh well, at least it installed without needing a special patch or script.

Update:  After a huge fight, I got a new Windows XP VM made.  Using the command ‘watch “du -s –si /home/vmguests/WinXP” ‘, I was able to get a sense of the speed of the file system when I was creating the virtual disk files.  I chose to make one large file at once for each of the two disks; C drive (15 GB), and E drive (48 GB).  With the watch command updating every two seconds, I was able to see that the RAID-10 XFS filesystem was handling about 100 Mbps as the disk files were created.

Once I had made theVM, loading it was uneventful.  Just a regular Windows XP professional install, like any other.  The vmware-server played nice mostly after that and has continued to do so.  I have only had to log out once due to unresponsiveness, and have not had to restart the server services.  The VM is quite fast, and allows my wife to see her video streams in Media Player 11 with only minor stuttering of the video.   Audio is fine.

I really like the USB visibilty of vmware-server.  The VM picked up the printer as if it were directly connected, and once I loaded the drivers for it, I was printing from the VM like normal.  All of my USB devices can be presented to the VM, which is an area I had problems with in the past with the 1.x versions of vmware-server.

Anyway, my wife is set up with her login and has a shortcut to RDP to the Windows XP VM, where she can login and watch her JNet streams.

2 Responses

  1. What kernel are you running? I am running 2.6.28-12-generic #43, and I get a compilation error when vmware-config.pl tries to build the module(s).

    • I am running a stock Kubuntu 9.04 kernel, John. I am upgrading my laptop to 2.6.30 now, am may try vmware on it. I will blog my results if I do.

Leave a Reply

