VMware-Server 2.0 Won’t Start a VM…


The title says it all.  I had taken a snapshot earlier of the VM.  Later, my machine locked for some reason last night, and I had to reset it hard.  Even the magic keys didn’t save me.  Everything seemed to come up ok, but this morning when I tried to start the VM, it failed with the error:

Cannot open the disk ‘/home/vmguests/WinXP/WinXP-000001.vmdk’ or one of the snapshot disks it depends on.  Reason:  Failed to lock the file.

I found that by deleting all the .lck folders in the VM directory (as root), I was able to start it normally.

3 Responses

  1. Useful post!

    Experienced de same issue and got resolved by seeing this post!

    thanx a ton!!

  2. thanks your a great help!

Leave a Reply

