Howto – Blacklisting Modules in Kubuntu…


I was having some trouble with my default sound card selection and wireless modules (Broadcom bcm43xx) that were  complaining.  Since I am not using wireless on this, I decided to do some spring-cleaning (it’s never too early) and pull those and other modules I am not using.  For this, I went into the blacklist file under /etc/modprobe.d and added the offending modules (determined by a quick run of lsmod and lspci in konsole):

  • lsmod and lspci – look for those modules tied to error messages in your logs, compare to lspci output to make sure you are really identifying the modules for the hardware you do not want to use, so you do not remove something you need.
  • sudo vi /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist – I like vi, but feel free to use vim, nano, pico, etc.
  • At the bottom of the file, I added a comment line for 18 Feb 08 – basic documentation for later if I need to fix something
  • Following the comment line, I added multiple lines, each starting with the word “blacklist” and followed by a space, then the module name as shown in lsmod.  Example:  blacklist bcm43xx

After I was done, I had pulled not only all the wireless (including the ieee80211 modules), but had also removed the ipv6 module, and the modules related to my onboard soundcard (which I do not use and suspected of conflicting with the card I am using).  After a reboot, sound worked much better, there was no mixer dropdown list to select between sound cards, there was no ipv6 module loaded, and the wireless complaints stopped.  lsmod revealed that indeed the modules were no longer loaded, and things seem to be running more smoothly now.

4 Responses

  1. […] found some good tips in the Ubuntu forums that helped. These and the module blacklisting I did seem to have permanently fixed the problem. I also rebooted back into the BIOS and disabled […]

  2. It helped a lot to free up some memory on my Slug (NSLU2).

    cheers,
    Sergio.

  3. PETROFINDER SHOULD BE CHARGED AS A COHORT OF FRAUDSTERS

    DOUGLAS HO,DOUGTRONICS COMM.&CO.IS WITH ERDEMO DIS TICARET BY MR SABAN SEN IS FRAUD AND SCAM COMPANY, BEWARE THIS SCAMMER AND FRAUDSTER WRITE FALSE AND WRONG INFORMATION OF GENUINE COMPANY, HE WILL SCAM YOU OF YOUR POP AND HE ALWAYS SEND YOU FAKE ICPO, SO KEEP AWAY FROM HIM, HE IS TOTALLY SCAMMER
    DOUGTRONICS COMM & CO IS A REAL SCAMMER AND FRAUDSTER, HE IS HERE TO SCAM AND FRAUD REAL SELLER OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS. BECAREFULL AND DO NOT GIVE YOUR DOCUMENT TO DOUGTRONICS COMM & CO, HE WILL USE IT FOR FRAUDULENT AND SCAMMING ACTIVITIES. 1. Tank receipt 2. Transfer title 3. SGS certificate 4. Bill of lading 5. Storage licence 6. Past history 7. Refinery welcome letter 8. Mandate authorized letter ALSO THIS IS TO GLOBAL BUYERS, DO NOT PAY TO DOUGTRONICS COMM & CO, BECAUSE HE PROVIDE FAKE AND SCAMM DOCUMENTS TO RECEIVE YOUR MONEY AND DISAPEAR. BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    PETROFINDER IS AIDING AND ABETTING FRAUSTERS.
    PERTOFINDER IS HELPING FRAUDSTERS TO DO CRIME.

    • DEAR SIR,

      I FEEL YOUR PAIN YOUR PAIN. THE COMPLAIN OF YOU IS NOT REALLY A HELPFUL ONE. ASK YOURSELF HOW BUSINESS IS POSSIBLE IF YOU GO AGAINST THE BUY’S INSTRUCTION. BUYER ALWAYS WANT TO SEE YOU HAVE THE PRODUCT ON HAND AND CAN FACILITATE NEGOTIATION. MY COMMENT AND ADVICE ON PETROFINDER ARE BASED ON BUYERS’ BAD EXPERIENCES WHICH ARE DOCUMENTED ON PETROFIDER’S DATA BASE. SO GOOD LUCK FOR YOUR LAW SUE. RIGHT NOW YOU ARE BAD MOUTH MY COMPANY AND WHO CAN I SUE?

      DOUGLAS HO

Leave a comment